Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Basic Preservation Grants

Grants to USA Nonprofits and Agencies to Preserve
and Provide Access to Important Film Footage

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

National Film Preservation Foundation

LOI Date:


Deadline Date:



Request a Grant Writer

Grants ranging from $1,000 to $18,000 to USA nonprofit and public institutions to preserve noncommercial film materials that have historical and cultural significance. Applicants must register by January 26, 2018. Grant funds must be used for preservation expenses only and may not be applied to operational, staffing, or shipping costs (with the special exception of nitrate materials).

The grant must be used to pay for new laboratory work involving the creation of:

- New film preservation elements (which may include soundtracks) and
- Two new public access copies, one of which must be a film print.
- Closed captioning for sound films destined for online or television exhibition.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 178260

Estimated Size of Grant:

The cash award ranges from $1,000 to $18,000.

Term of Contract:

The grant period runs from June 2018 to August 2019. The funds can be applied only to work commissioned after the grant start date.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

Grants are available to public and 501(c)3 nonprofit institutions in the United States that provide public access to their collections, including those that are part of federal, state or local government. The grants target orphan films (1) made in the United States or by American citizens abroad and (2) not protected by commercial interests.

Materials originally created for television or video are not eligible, including works produced with funds from broadcast or cable television entities.

Pre-Application Information:

How to apply:

1. Identify film or footage collection to be preserved
Identify materials in your collection that meet the criteria listed above and decide what laboratory work needs to be done. For guidance on planning a preservation project, please consult The Film Preservation Guide: The Basics for Archives, Libraries, and Museums (attached).

2. Register with the NFPF
E-mail the NFPF regarding your archive's interest in applying. Provide your name, institution, address, phone number, fax number, e-mail address, and a brief description of your project. The NFPF will then contact you to discuss your project.

If your project meets the eligibility requirements, you will be invited to submit a letter of application. The registration deadline is January 26, 2018.

3. Complete a proposal with laboratory cost estimate
Write a proposal in the form of a letter (4 to 6 pages), with one laboratory estimate (NFPF grants do not cover administrative costs). Applicants may provide up to five digital still images or a video copy of the proposed project.

4. Submit application
All applications are due by February 23, 2018. Applicants will be notified regarding grant decisions in June 2018.

The Film Preservation Guide:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Register to apply and submit applications as PDF or Word files to:

Or mail in hard copy applications to the following address:

National Film Preservation Foundation
145 Ninth Street, Suite 260
San Francisco, CA 94103

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming